The sign reads: don’t support our business because we are homophobic

20 04 2009

Elbo Room, a karaoke bar in Peoria, Illinois, which was formerly called the Quench Room and known as a gay bar, posted this sign at the window:

bar-pic

This sign basically screams homophobia and implies that Elbo Room does not welcome gay or lesbian customers, but Diesel down the street does.  Supposedly this sign was put up because the owner of Elbo Room, Greg Quast, always complains about how many gay and lesbian people come into the bar.  Regardless of however Elbo Room tries to justify its sign, it is wholly discriminatory and unnecessary to display such an offensive sign.

Bad, not-funny joke or not, this sign is insensitive and insulting.  People don’t go out to bars to feel uncomfortable, unwelcome, and discriminated against because of their sexual orientation.  Furthermore, considering that we are living in an economic downturn right now, many businesses are struggling to stay afloat and there should be no reason for any business to not discriminate against any group or not welcome them as customers.

Read the rest of this entry »





Blake Lively feels “like a tranny”?

20 04 2009

The May issue of Allure magazine will appear tomorrow, April 21st, and Gossip Girl star 21 year old Blake Lively will be gracing the cover.  In the interview for the Allure cover, she said she feels “like a tranny a lot of the time”.  Why is this so?

“I don’t know, I’m…large? They put me in six-inch heels, and I tower over every man. I’ve got this long hair and lots of clothes and makeup on. I just feel really big a lot of the time, and I’m surrounded by a lot of tiny people. I feel like a man sometimes.”

Like feminist 1 wrote in an earlier post, “tranny” is an offensive word that gets thrown around way too much.  It’s frustrating when cis-gender people throw around “tranny” without any thought or consideration for the implications of their words, coming from a position of privilege and blindness to that privilege.

Over on TransGriot, Monica says:

And let’s face it, even with your declaration notwithstanding, not many people question what genitalia you pack in your panties like they do transwomen even after decades of transition.

But at the same time, just as I want people to take me and other transpeeps at face value when we articulate our feelings, I’m extending the same courtesy to Blake Lively. I’m not walking in her pumps, so I respectfully take her word for it that was her emotional state at the time she said those comments.

But next time, please refrain from using the word ‘tranny’. While I feel you in terms of the emotions you expressed, the T-word coming from the lips of a cisgender woman is still a little problematic.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.