Blake Lively feels “like a tranny”?

20 04 2009

The May issue of Allure magazine will appear tomorrow, April 21st, and Gossip Girl star 21 year old Blake Lively will be gracing the cover.  In the interview for the Allure cover, she said she feels “like a tranny a lot of the time”.  Why is this so?

“I don’t know, I’m…large? They put me in six-inch heels, and I tower over every man. I’ve got this long hair and lots of clothes and makeup on. I just feel really big a lot of the time, and I’m surrounded by a lot of tiny people. I feel like a man sometimes.”

Like feminist 1 wrote in an earlier post, “tranny” is an offensive word that gets thrown around way too much.  It’s frustrating when cis-gender people throw around “tranny” without any thought or consideration for the implications of their words, coming from a position of privilege and blindness to that privilege.

Over on TransGriot, Monica says:

And let’s face it, even with your declaration notwithstanding, not many people question what genitalia you pack in your panties like they do transwomen even after decades of transition.

But at the same time, just as I want people to take me and other transpeeps at face value when we articulate our feelings, I’m extending the same courtesy to Blake Lively. I’m not walking in her pumps, so I respectfully take her word for it that was her emotional state at the time she said those comments.

But next time, please refrain from using the word ‘tranny’. While I feel you in terms of the emotions you expressed, the T-word coming from the lips of a cisgender woman is still a little problematic.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 04 2009
Jason

…Transpeeps.
I officially love that phrase. I shall put it in my book of awesome phrases and use it where applicable.

But yeah, I agree. “I feel like a tranny” is just… Tasteless.

And she seems to miss everything else that goes along with being a transpeep. For one thing, you’re made primarily of sugar, and… No, wait. That’s not right.

Seriously though, I don’t class height as what it feels like to be trans. I’ll admit, I feel short; even though I’m above the national average I’m way below the average for my generation, and younger people likewise dwarf me. But that’s not really a major issue, compared to everyone else.

28 10 2009
Aimee

..Seriously? No offense, but I think you’re being way too sensitive over the word tranny.. I am an English transsexual woman and I love that word, maybe it’s a Brit thing o.O None of my trans friends have ever told me they find that word offensive, most seem to throw it around more than me, so I’m quite interested to know what you find offensive about it. The ones that piss me off when used by cisgenders are things like ‘shemale’ ‘chick with a dick’ and ‘sissy’, ones with obvious negative connotations.

When someone I don’t know refers to me as a tranny I enjoy it, cause I am PROUD to be a tranny!

Leave a Reply

