This is She.

21 04 2009

This is another guest post from Liv called “This is She”. About Liv:

My name is Liv and I am queer-identified, soon-to-be Newton North High School graduate. I have been writing all my life, and began being active in the GLBTQ community about 3 years ago. I have been writing, recording, and posting my spoken word poetry to Myspace (myspace.com/zhespeaks) for about a year and a half now. I hope to major in English or Women’s Studies next year at Simmons College in Boston.

This is She

This is She. She that will not be called She. But will, none the less, be. And you cannot erase Her history. A mystery of lines that often She broke and contorted, that sometimes cut through Her and formed a square around Her when She was weak. This is She. She that will not be called She. Or He. And maybe its cruel to assume that She has to reject He and She to become Me, but Life isn’t fair. Life doesn’t treat everyone equally although it probably should. And Life and I, we have this in common – no regrets. She thinks if I repeat it – no regrets no regrets no regrets – it’ll come true, We’ll start to believe that every thing We’ve done is the right thing and any wrong thing We did was in the right name – no regrets no regrets no regrets. She screams this in My head and it bounces of My skull’s wall, coasting through that empty space. I try to erase Her history so that those lines will trace My body in a shape unlike Hers – with less curves and more angles – acute rather than obtuse. More smooth, flat surfaces. And maybe She and Me, We can rhyme, but as Time moves on more slowly I’ll shake out memory by memory of She. Until this is Me, and I will not be called She or He, but will, none the less, be.





Penis Envy

21 04 2009

This is a poem submitted to us by Liv called “Penis Envy”.  Here’s a little about Liv:

My name is Liv and I am queer-identified, soon-to-be Newton North High School graduate. I have been writing all my life, and began being active in the GLBTQ community about 3 years ago. I have been writing, recording, and posting my spoken word poetry to Myspace (myspace.com/zhespeaks) for about a year and a half now. I hope to major in English or Women’s Studies next year at Simmons College in Boston.

Thanks Liv, we appreciate your contributions!

Penis Envy
 

don’t ask me to know you don’t expect me

to know the word you’ll say next

or to finish your sentences for you.

don’t tell me that you know me

better than I know myself

because I haven’t gotten there yet.

I haven’t defined myself, haven’t put it down in words

haven’t set anything in stone, so

Don’t tell me that you know me

because I haven’t gotten there yet
 

Read the rest of this entry »





You mean Latina woman aren’t all maids?

21 04 2009

On April 19th, on NPR’s website, an article described the long career of actress Lupe Ontiveros.  Apparently, she has played a maid at least 150 times.

Seriously.

Additionally, she finds that she’s not just asked to play maids; she’s asked to do her best to reinforce Latina stereotypes.  She describes to her interviewer a common occurrence in auditions she attends:

“‘You want an accent?’ And they’d say, ‘Yes, we prefer for you to have an accent.’ And the thicker and more waddly it is, the more they like it. This is what I’m against, really, truly,” she says.

Ontiveros was so sick of playing stereotyped Latina parts that when she received a script for Miguel Arteta’s Chuck and Buck, and saw that her role would be a woman named Beverly, she immediately accepted the part.  “I’ll do it because her name is Beverly, it wasn’t Maria Guadalupe Conchita Esperanza — this Latino stereotype,” she recalls telling Arteta.

Ontiveros has accepted maid parts throughout her entire life, and continues to do so in order to find work.  However, she says, “I long to play a judge. I long to play a lesbian woman. I long to play a councilman, someone with some chutzpah.”  She says at the end of the article that she thinks other Latina actresses, such as Jennifer Lopez and America Ferrera, have more options; they aren’t confined to the stereotyped accented immigrant maids.

What truly upsets me while reading this article is that Ontiveros, who has proven herself as an actress in films such as El Notre, is forced to conform to Latina stereotypes in order to find work.  I do think it’s pathetic, ignorant, racist, and sexist that so many film and television show execs are actively trying to reinforce racial stereotypes, but I wish that it would be easier for actors like Ontiveros to just walk away.  However, if she needs the work, what is she supposed to do?  She is caught in a classic double-bind, where she can take the money offered, so long as she helps reinforce stereotypes that she herself is against.

Apparently, Ontiveros will be appearing on the TV show Reaper soon, as a grandmother without an accent.  I watch Reaper, and so I’m very excited to look for her in upcoming episodes.  I’m also hoping that one of my favorite show has given her the opportunity to play a non- or less-stereotypical role.  If she is indeed on Reaper, I will update you all in the comments.





Tuesday Reading!

21 04 2009

I’ve stumbled upon many interesting articles that I don’t have time to blog about right now, but here are some that are worth reading and checking out!

More on the Evils of Capitalism, which is really just the Cult of I.

If you’re not really sorry then don’t say so.

A recap of yesterday’s Andrade Trial.

Jaheem Herrera, an 11-year old schoolboy, committed suicide after being the target of homophobic bullying.

In British courts now, prosecutors are supposed to “‘robustly'” challenge rape myths.  Finally an acknowledgment that rape myths are deeply entrenched in our society.

Oh yay.  More proof that we live in a victim-blaming society.

“No disrespect intended” says Miss California?  I beg to differ.

“Trans panic” is somehow supposed to justify Angie Zapata’s murder?

Dominant American ideology and the individualism its so tied up in does not help society.

Happy reading!