This is She.

21 04 2009

This is another guest post from Liv called “This is She”. About Liv:

My name is Liv and I am queer-identified, soon-to-be Newton North High School graduate. I have been writing all my life, and began being active in the GLBTQ community about 3 years ago. I have been writing, recording, and posting my spoken word poetry to Myspace (myspace.com/zhespeaks) for about a year and a half now. I hope to major in English or Women’s Studies next year at Simmons College in Boston.

This is She

This is She. She that will not be called She. But will, none the less, be. And you cannot erase Her history. A mystery of lines that often She broke and contorted, that sometimes cut through Her and formed a square around Her when She was weak. This is She. She that will not be called She. Or He. And maybe its cruel to assume that She has to reject He and She to become Me, but Life isn’t fair. Life doesn’t treat everyone equally although it probably should. And Life and I, we have this in common – no regrets. She thinks if I repeat it – no regrets no regrets no regrets – it’ll come true, We’ll start to believe that every thing We’ve done is the right thing and any wrong thing We did was in the right name – no regrets no regrets no regrets. She screams this in My head and it bounces of My skull’s wall, coasting through that empty space. I try to erase Her history so that those lines will trace My body in a shape unlike Hers – with less curves and more angles – acute rather than obtuse. More smooth, flat surfaces. And maybe She and Me, We can rhyme, but as Time moves on more slowly I’ll shake out memory by memory of She. Until this is Me, and I will not be called She or He, but will, none the less, be.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

