Thank you, Dr. LeRoy Carhart!

11 06 2009

Two days ago, I wrote a post about how the late Dr. Tiller’s clinic was going to be closed permanently.  One of the reasons this is a heavy loss is because Dr. Tiller’s clinic was one of the only places where women could get late abortions.

But good news!  Dr. LeRoy Carhart, a Nebraska doctor has stepped up and said that he would perform third-term abortions in Kansas.  It is unclear whether he will be performing these abortions at a new facility or if he’d perform them at existing clinics.  In a telephone interview with The Associated Press, Dr. Carhart said, “there will be a place in Kansas for the later second- and the medically indicated third-trimester patients very soon.”

Since 1985, Dr. Carhart has run his own clinic in Bellvue, Nebraska.  He’s performed late term abortions at Dr. Tiller’s clinic previously due to Nebraska’s restrictive abortion laws.  Subsequent to the initial closing of Dr. Tiller’s clinic after his murder, Dr. Carhart has experienced an increase in patients in his Bellvue clinic.  The two were old friends and colleagues.

Thank you, Dr. Carhart for stepping up and in to uphold a crucial service for women.  Thank you, Dr. Carhart for your courage and determination to continue providing a critical medical procedure for women in spite of the anti-choice  harassment and violence that has occurred and will continue to occur.  Thank you, Dr. Carhart for your dedication to defending women’s reproductive health and rights.


Actions

Information

12 responses

15 06 2009
Betty

I was looking for a way to personally thank Dr. Carhart and ran across your post. Do you know how to contact him. This is the first site I’ve been to that quickly said, Thank You. Good work. I’ll be back.

15 06 2009
feminist2

I actually do not know how to contact him, but I was thinking of sending him a letter as well… If you (or anyone else!) find out his contact info, please share! And glad you liked the blog!

15 06 2009
Betty

I’ll work on that tomorrow. On the contact info.

16 06 2009
feminist2

Thanks Betty! Keep us posted.

16 06 2009
Betty

I’ve been able to track an address so far, but no phone number, or email.

1002 West Mission Avenue Suite 201
Bellevue, NE 68005

I am TERRIBLE about doing snail mail, but I’ll try my hardest to get a letter out.

Hope this helps.

16 06 2009
Betty

I did it! I wrote Dr. Earhart a snail mail.

16 06 2009
feminist2

Thanks a lot Betty! And yay for sending him a letter! I’ll do the same now that I have his address, thanks to you! 🙂

16 06 2009
Betty

Awe. Sweet….

25 06 2009
Quincy

A short (6 minute) video I made. It was inspired by a Democracy Now segment I heard on the radio. Thanks for watching!

if this ^ didn’t work please click here to view:

17 08 2009
westerner

I think his address may have changed since I did not find the same address listed on the web as what is posted here. The website: http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Leroy_Carhart.html indicates that his address is this:
Leroy Carhart, MD

Emergency Medicine, Surgery

Male – 32 years experience

Address for Dr. Leroy Carhart
Abortion & Contraception Clnc.
1002 W Mission Ave Ste 101
Bellevue, NE

Ciao,

28 08 2009
Julia

402-291-4797 That’s the number for the clinic. I just called and told the woman thank you for them still doing their jobs despite crazy protesters. She sounded very surprised to get a positive phone call.

2 09 2009
Hintsa Andebrhan

Hi there, my name is Hintsa Andebrhan from Ethiopia & working as freelacer researcher link with unsafe abortion & it’s socail problem, I did wrote a report to UNFPA Eritrea & to IPAS internationa Ethiopia my reporet been buplshed as book let & gose to the communty in both nations & I setll doing reseach link with the victims, if you intersting with my job please fell free to write or call me @+251 911 158 450(Mob) by the way Dr Leroy well done & sorry for lost your firend & partner Dr.George Tiller.
Hintsa

Leave a Reply

