“The woman on page 194”

30 08 2009

Page 194 of the September issue of Glamour magazine features a picture of 20-year old Lizzi Miller, “size 12-14 and an avid softball player/belly dancer.” Given that the average American woman is a size 12-14, Miller is normal, although she is considered a plus-size model. She’s pictured sitting in her underwear with a huge smile on her face, accompanying an article about body confidence, entitled “What Everyone But You Sees About Your Body.”

Lizzie Miller, the woman on page 194

Lizzi Miller, the woman on page 194

This picture has generated an influx of fan mail to Glamour‘s mailbox. One reader from Pavo, Georgia said that Miller’s picture is “the most amazing photograph I’ve ever seen in any women’s magazine. Another reader from Somerset, Massachusetts wrote in saying: “This beautiful woman has a real stomach and did I even see a few stretch marks? This is how my belly looks after giving birth to my two amazing kids! This photo made me want to shout from the rooftops.”

Of all the acclaim her photo’s gotten, Miller says:

When I read them I got teary-eyed! I’ve been that girl, flipping through magazines trying to find just one person who looked a little bit like me. And when I didn’t find it I would start to think there’s something wrong with the way that I looked. When J. Lo and Beyoncé came out and were making curves sexy, I started to accept myself more. It’s funny, but just seeing them look and feel sexy enabled me to do the same.

It is great that Glamour is pushing for size-acceptance and featuring real, normal looking women instead of models, because the reality of it is that most women do not look like models you see in the magazines or on television. From a Glamour blog post:

So let’s start off this week with something we can all get behind: a toast to the woman on p. 194, and to the spectacular sexiness of owning who you are. Trust me, Glamour‘s listening, and this only strengthens our commitment to celebrating all kinds of beauty.

Let’s hope that Glamour is listening and will continue to feature women who do not necessarily fit under hegemonic standards of beauty. Check out The 5 Ways Glamour Undermines Its Size 12 Self Acceptance Message for more thoughts on this.


Actions

Information

One response

18 09 2009
Syd

i love this. curves may actually come back soon. i hope. but my main concern is that size 12-14 is actually considered a plus size model! what in the hell is wrong with our society that the average womens size is a plus size model?

Leave a Reply

